The Ghostbuster

There’s a huge breach between present-day psychiatry and the basic need of afflicted people for soul-healing.  For awhile I campaigned in the no-man’s land between the dichotomized sides.  I didn’t make much of a dent in the barricades, but the linked webpage offers the fruit that the effort bore.  Then last year I discovered the work of an intrepid pathfinder who has actually made some serious progress in this challenging field: Robert Bruce, author of Practical Psychic Self-Defense, as well as some books on astral projection and spiritual healing.  That link is to the Amazon page for the book, which has some very informative reviews of it.

Prac-Psych-SD

For a man who has mastered out-of-body travel, Bruce seems very down-to-earth. His healing techniques include mental and physical methods for achieving deep, full-body relaxation; I had to pass on them because I’m so non-earth-centered myself. Despite the thoroughness, detail, and originality of his writing and the activities it describes, he strikes me as basically a simple man sincerely out to do some good in the world with his unique gifts. And these gifts are formidable: he was evidently born with a degree of psychic sensitivity that laid him open to all the occult energies and entities that cause a huge number of people to become drastically dysfunctional and get diagnosed as mentally ill. He mastered the challenge, and became an individual who towers over the mass of those who are merely normal.

In Practical Psychic Self-Defense Bruce refuses to cop to the soul-killing psychiatric paradigm. There are only a few peripheral references to the fact that the entities and phenemena he’s describing are categorized by the establishment as all manner of psychoses, hallucinations, delusions, etc. He’s well acquainted with the historical perspective on them as demons, evil spirits, etc., but he steers clear of it all by simply calling the critters “negs”, short for “negative entities”. He knows they’re real because he’s been dealing with them all his life. His approach is utterly pragmatic: he learned his stuff by trial and error, often very painful, though he did have the guidance of some sensitive mentors along the way.

Bruce describes a lot of healings, banishings, and even exorcisms that he has carried out, giving the impression that he’s a real-life Ghostbuster. He doesn’t use this term himself, but his presentation conveys enough convincing detail and spiritual humility to make me feel that he deserves it.

My esteem for Bruce’s books and the work they describe does not, unfortunately, carry over to the presentation on his website, which strikes me as overly commercialized and somewhat crass. If I had first found out about him through this venue, I would have probably dismissed him as just another psychic self-promoter. Perhaps my attitude is too critical ~ after all, fringe people have to make a living too. But Practical Psychic Self-Defense is incredible, and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Robert Bruce

Robert Bruce

This entry was posted in The Undiscovered Cosmos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ghostbuster

  1. Joseph, your review of Robert Bruce’s book is excellent…you got me hooked! I hope that Mr. Bruce takes your comments about his Website to heart! How does the saying go…first impressions leave lasting impressions?

  2. After watching Mr. Bruce’s video and then browsing through the titles on his site, I can see that he set up his Website as a business. The purpose is to promote and sell his products. He isn’t giving away free information…that isn’t what he set out to do, so if you look at his site in terms of his goals and objectives, then yes, his site fits into the commercial category. Personally, I found that visiting his site was akin to watching a commercial…it didn’t interest me and so after browsing for a short time, I found nothing of value there and wanted to move on. He could certainly improve the site by making it less commercial and more personal…i.e. share some personal stories; give away some free information/tips on ‘how to’.

    • josephrex says:

      Ah, so your impression matches mine, plus you’re more descriptive about it, and even have a positive suggestion for improvement. I may submit my review to Amazon for their page advertising the book. I’ve never done that before, though have often thought about it. If I do, would it be all right if I include your suggestion?

Leave a Reply

